Faculty Affiliates

Faculty Affiliates of the Women’s and Gender Studies Program are members of the Iowa State University community committed to, and actively involved in, fulfilling the Program’s mission of teaching, research, and outreach.

As an interdisciplinary academic program, Women’s and Gender Studies depends upon the work of university-wide faculty who cross the boundaries of their disciplines to contribute to the development and diffusion of knowledge and activism within this field of study.

Faculty Affiliates include tenure-track faculty, lecturers, clinicians, professional and scientific employees, and adjunct faculty members at ISU.

WGS faculty affiliates are eligible to apply for the Mini-Grants Program to support their research and professional development activities. Please fill out the application form here with information about how your work will contribute to women’s and gender studies, feminist and related scholarship and/or teaching. There is no specific deadline for this award.

Women’s and Gender Studies Faculty Affiliate Application

Kevin Amidon ksamidon@iastate.edu Associate Professor (German) – Department of World Languages and Cultures 3230 Pearson
David Anderson dander@iastate.edu Assistant Professor – Department of Political Science 547 Ross
Carmen Bain cbain@iastate.edu Associate Professor – Department of Sociology 308 East Hall
Amy Bix abix@iastate.edu Professor – Department of History 633 Ross
Dawn Bratsch-Prince deprince@iastate.edu Professor (Spanish) – WLC &  Assoc. Provost for Faculty 1550 Beardshear
Mary Brotherson mjbrothe@iastate.edu Professor- Department of Human Development and Family Studies 2361C Palmer
Michael Bugeja bugeja@iastate.edu Director – Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication 101A Hamilton
Brianne Burke brburke@iastate.edu Assistant Professor, Dept. of English 235 Ross
Dianne Bystrom dbystrom@iastate.edu Director – Carrie Champman Catt Center 315 Catt
Barbara Caldwell bacald@iastate.edu Associate Professor – Department of Art and Visual Culture 397 Design
Sarah Chase Crosby smchase@iastate.edu Lecturer – English 459 Ross
Jen Coppoc jacoppoc@iastate.edu Lecturer – Department of English & Department of American Indian Studies Program 1104 Communications
Stacy Cordery cordery@iastate.edu Professor of History Ross Hall
Tessa Ditonto tditonto@iastate.edu Assistant Professor – Department of Political Science 517 Ross
Betty Dobratz bdobratz@iastate.edu Professor – Department of Sociology 218 East Hall
Shelby Doyle doyle@iastate.edu Assistant Professor – Department of Architecture 486 College of Design
Abby Dubisar dubisar@iastate.edu Assistant Professor – Department of English 441 Ross
Leslie Forehand forehand@iastate.edu Lecturer – Department of Architecture 484 College of Design
Joel Geske geske@iastate.edu Associate Professor – Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication 209 Hamilton
Emily Godbey egodbey@iastate.edu Associate Professor – Department of Art and Visual Culture 388 Design
Mike Goebel mgoebel@iastate.edu Lecturer in WGS and SOC 332 Carver
Carolyn Heising cheising@iastate.edu Professor Emeritus – Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering 3004 Black Engr
Kathleen Hilliard khilliar@iastate.edu Associate Professor – Department of History 643 Ross
Sonya Huffman skostova@iastate.edu Adjunct Associate Professor – Department of Economics 368D Heady Hall
Gloria Jones-Johnson gjj@iastate.edu Professor – Sociology 202 East Hall
Tera Jordan trh@iastate.edu Assistant Professor – Department of Human Development and Family Studies 1364 Palmer
Christiana Langenberg clang@iastate.edu Academic Advisor English & WGS 343 Ross
Maggie Laware mlaware@iastate.edu Associate Professor – English & Speech Communication 311 Ross
Clare Lemke crlemke@iastate.edu Student support specialist in LGBT Student Services 1071 Student Services Bldg
Ingrid Lilligran ililligr@iastate.edu Professor and Chair – Department of Art and Visual Culture 95 Design
Brenda Lohman blohman@iastate.edu Professor – Department of Human Development and Family Studies 2356 Palmer
Sandra Looft rmlooft@iastate.edu Lecturer of German 3220 Pearson Hall
Sara Marcketti sbb@iastate.edu Associate Director – Department of Apparel, Events, and Hospitality Management 1060 Lebaron
Olga Mesropova olgames@iastate.edu Associate Professor (Russian) – Department of World Languages and Cultures 3246 Pearson
Rachel Meyers rlmeyers@iastate.edu Assistant Professor – Department of World Languages and Cultures 3118E Pearson
Kelly Odenweller kellyo@iastate.edu Lecturer – Department of Psychology 340 Carver
Peter Orazem pfo@iastate.edu University Professor – Department of Economics 267 Heady
Rosemary Perez rjperez@iastate.edu Assistant Professor – School of Education 2623 Lagomarcino
Jo Anne Powell-Coffman japc@iastate.edu Professor and Chair – Department of Genetics, Development and Cell Biology 1210 Molecular Bio
Kelly Reddy-Best Kelly.reddybest@gmail.com Assistant Professor, Apparel, Merchandising, and Design 1058 Lebaron
Sarah L. Rodriguez srod@iastate.edu Assistant Professor, School of Education 2666B Lagomarcino Hall
Amy Rutenberg arutenbe@iastate.edu Assistant Professor – Department of History 617 Ross
Calli Sanders csanders@iastate.edu Senior Associate Director Athletics – Department of Athletics 1135 Jacobson
Michèle Schaal mschaal@iastate.edu Assist. Prof. WGS and French in WLC 3102 Pearson
Karen Scheel krscheel@iastate.edu Senior Lecturer – Department of Psychology W112 Lagomarcino
Barbara Schwarte schwarte@iastate.edu Professor Emeritus – Department of English 331 Ross
David Schweingruber dschwein@iastate.edu Associate Professor – Department of Sociology 318 East Hall
Linda Shenk shenk@iastate.edu Associate Professor – Department of English 233 Ross
Amy Slagell aslagell@iastate.edu Associate Dean – Liberal Arts and Science Administration 201 Catt
Julie Snyder-Yuly juliesy@iastate.edu Lecturer – Leadership Studies 2271 Gilman
Susan Stewart stewarts@iastate.edu DOGE – Department of Sociology 107 East Hall
Alissa Stoehr astoehr@iastate.edu Lecturer – Department of Sociology & Women’s and Gender Studies Program 330 Carver
Pat Thiel thiel@iastate.edu Distinguished Professor – Department of Chemistry 320 Spedding
Denise Vrchota vrchota@iastate.edu Assistant Professor – Department of English 342 Carver
Stacey Weber-Fève sweber@iastate.edu Senior Lecturer – Department of World Languages and Cultures 3102K Pearson
Betty Wells  bwells@iastate.edu Professor – Department of Sociology 303D East Hall
Kelly Winfrey kwinfrey@iastate.edu Assistant Professor – Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication 212 Hamilton
Clark Wolf jwcwolf@iastate.edu Professor – Department of Philosophy & Religious Studies & Director of Bioethics 435 Catt